What’s going on at Amazing Mead – a personal interlude

I’m afraid this blog has been sadly neglected these past months since last October; rather a case of life getting in the way of blogging, though the mead brewing carried on. The Yuletide Spiced Tea mead turned out a roaring success – I have one bottle left from that batch which we’re going to taste this December, but I’m also about to start a much bigger batch ready for this Yuletide. This time I’ll be brewing 6 gallons of the stuff, and in my next post I’ll be giving the recipe. 🙂

Since my last post, I’ve been through a miscarriage (my 4th) in January, started a new job in March, and moved house in May just a week before my youngest daughter’s 6th birthday. The new house is a lovely 118-year-old 2-bedroom cottage – nice and cosy, but far less space than the old house! This has led to some challenges in mead-brewing; I don’t have a nice big kitchen any more for a start, and finding space for the brewing demijohns has not been easy either! The brewing still goes on, however.

Currently we have bottled: 1L Yule Spiced Tea mead (16.3% ABV) from Oct 2012, 330ml coffee mead (9.3%) from last July, 3.5L marmalade mead (13.5%) and 2L spiced apple melomel (15%) – both from April this year. We just finished off the last of the bramble melomel (12.5%) that was also from April, but there was a hiatus in brewing thanks to the house move and I’ve only just gotten started back into the brewing again. Yesterday I set up a 1-gallon batch of strawberry and vanilla melomel using up a left-over punnet of strawberries, I’m starting up a couple of batches of quick orange mead today, and as I’ve mentioned above I’ll be starting off the Yuletide mead tomorrow.

Apologies for the paucity of posts; I’m hoping to get back into the habit of regular blogging here again soon!

About arkadyrose

Genderqueer artist, singer, musician, writer, tailor, mead-mazer and doll crafter living in Walthamstow, NE London. Periodically develop obsessions with various topics; currently it's Paganini, previously Ancient Greece and Alexander the Great, but also fascinated by Ancient Egypt and Romano-British culture. Christo-Pagan.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Updates, WHat's brewing in the lab. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

