Back from Sussex….

…and planning new meads! My daughter and I just got back from visiting friends for a couple of days, and we’ve brough back with us blackberries, sloes and rosehips. These are all going to be used in melomels. I’m also looking into one of the varieties of hops found growing natively in Sussex to form the basis of a metheglyn, and I have a new recipe for what could be a very promising hippocras.

I also want to start up a new batch of coffee mead, so this all means I’ve just been ordering new demijohns from The Homebrew Shop. Somehow I have to figure out where I’m going to put them, as my little “alchemy lab” is now threatening to take over the whole kitchen!

Other mead plans include an experiment involving brewing mead from a sourdough starter culture. This could either work incredibly well or turn out an utter disaster – but that’s all part of the fun of homebrewing! I suspect my partner may be wishing at this point that I had a handy shed (with power & water supply) he could banish my little lab to….

About arkadyrose

Genderqueer artist, singer, musician, writer, tailor, mead-mazer and doll crafter living in Walthamstow, NE London. Periodically develop obsessions with various topics; currently it's Paganini, previously Ancient Greece and Alexander the Great, but also fascinated by Ancient Egypt and Romano-British culture. Christo-Pagan.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Updates, WHat's brewing in the lab and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

